The Houses of Parliament in London
The Houses of Parliament in London Credit: Cwmbran Life

Eight candidates have put their names forward for the Torfaen seat at this year’s general election.

The deadline for nominations was 4pm today (Friday 7 June). Voters will head to the polling stations on Thursday 4 July 2024 to choose the person to represent Torfaen at Westminster.

The candidates for Torfaen are:

  • Welsh Conservative Party- Nathan Edmunds
  • The Green Party- Philip Davies
  • Heritage Party- Nikki Brooke
  • Independent- Lee Dunning
  • Welsh Labour- Nick Thomas-Symonds
  • Welsh Liberal Democrats- Brendan Roberts
  • Plaid Cymru- Matthew Jones
  • Reform UK- Ian Williams

Are you registered to vote?

If you’re not registered to vote, the deadline for new registrations is Tuesday 18 June. Call Torfaen Council’s election team on 01495 762200 if you’re unsure if you’re registered

You will need Voter ID

You will need photo ID to vote at a polling station in this election.

If you are registered to vote but do not have accepted photo ID, you’ll need to apply for a free Voter Authority Certificate by 5pm on Wednesday 26 June.  

Voter Authority Certificates last for ten years, so if you received one for the Police and Crime Commissioner election, you can use it for this election as well. 

Please check your poll card for polling station details because they may have changed. 

Want to vote by post or proxy?

The deadline for applying for postal votes is 5pm on Wednesday 19 June. Register for a postal vote.

The deadline for applying to vote by proxy is Wednesday 26 June. 

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *