Brendan Roberts- The Liberal Democrats in Torfaen for the 2024 General Election
Brendan Roberts- The Liberal Democrats in Torfaen for the 2024 General Election Credit: Brendan Roberts

The Liberal Democrats candidate for Torfaen said he was disappointed to lose his deposit but “bolstered” by the results from the party across the UK.

The general election on Thursday 4 July 2024 saw the party increase its seats in parliament from eight to 71.

Brendan said: “I’ve stood for county council, community council, but never fathomed standing for a parliamentary seat at the age of 23. To lose out on getting your deposit back is not a nice feeling, but I’m still bolstered by the fact I fared better than some other fellow candidates across Wales. 

“But not only that, by the fact the Liberal Democrats have seen our best result ever. Seventy-one seats I think was in most people’s wildest imagination, but the party has done it and we’re a force to be reckoned with again. Even in Wales where we’ve got an MP back Brecon, Radnor, and Cwmtawe. 

“Lastly, I’d just like to say a huge thank you to all those voters in Torfaen who put their trust in me. I hope to win the trust of more people going forward.”

Torfaen 2024 general election result

Nick Thomas-Symonds, Welsh Labour, won the Torfaen seat in the 2024 General Election.

The full result of this morning’s election count for Torfaen:

  • Welsh Labour- Nick Thomas-Symonds- 15,176
  • Reform UK- Ian Williams- 7,854
  • Welsh Conservative Party- Nathan Edmunds- 5,737
  • Plaid Cymru- Matthew Jones- 2,571
  • The Green Party- Philip Davies- 1,705
  • Welsh Liberal Democrats- Brendan Roberts- 1,644
  • Independent- Lee Dunning- 881
  • Heritage Party- Nikki Brooke- 137